Visa > Overseas Participants

Visa-Exempt Entry Countries eligible for Visa-exempt entry:
  1. The nationals of the following countries are eligible for the visa exemption program, which permits a duration of stay up to 90 days:
    Australia, Austria, Andorra, Belgium, Bulgaria, Canada, Chile (diplomatic, official/service passports excluded), Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Ireland, Israel, Italy, Japan, Republic of Korea, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malaysia, Malta, Monaco, the Netherlands, New Zealand, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Romania, San Marino, Singapore, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, U.K., U.S.A. and Vatican City State.
  2. The nationals of the following countries are eligible for the visa exemption program, which permits a duration of stay up to 30 days:Malaysia, Singapore.
  1. a passport with validity of at least 6 months upon entry
    Evisa-exempt entry only applies to foreign visitors holding formal passports (i.e. ordinary, official/service and diplomatic passports), not including those holding emergency, temporary, other informal passports or travel documents. 
    EJapanese passport holders with their passports valid for more than 3 months are eligible for visa-exempt entry. 
    EUS passport( including emergency passport) holders with their passports valid for the period of intended stay are eligible for visa-exempt entry.

  2. a confirmed return air/sea ticket or an air/sea ticket and a visa for the next destination, and a confirmed seat reservation for departure.
  3. Must not be determined by border officers at ports of entry in the Republic of China to be otherwise inadmissible.

    Further information: click here.
Landing Visas Countries eligible for Landing Visas
  1. Holders of Bruneian passport with validity of more than six months.
  2. Holders of Turkish passport with validity of more than six months.
  3. Holders of Macedonian passport with validity of more than six months. (Effective  from November 1, 2013)
  4. Holders of emergency or temporary passports with validity more than six months for nationals of those countries (execpt for US) eligible for visa-exempt  entry.
  1. a confirmed return air/sea  ticket or an air/sea ticket and a visa for the next destination, and a confirmed seat reservation for departure.
  2. fill out an application form with two photos.
  3. visa fee of NT$ 1,600 (citizens of the countries with reciprocal agreements shall be issued visas gratis) plus a handling fee of NT$ 800; For Turkish citizens: shall only be charged a handling fee of NT$800.
  4. no criminal record or not  prohibited by the local authorities.

    Further information: click here.


Designated Countries
Procedures for Nationals of the Designated Countries Applying for Visitor Visas to the Republic of China(R.O.C.)

Nationals from the following countries applying for visitor visas to the R.O.C. must fulfill the procedure of this section:

  • Afghanistan
  • Algeria
  • Bangladesh
  • Bhutan*
  • Burma/Myanmar
  • Cambodia
  • Cameroon
  • Cuba
  • Ghana
  • India (Identity Certificate)*
  • Iran
  • Iraq
  • Laos
  • Nepal*
  • Niger
  • Nigeria
  • Pakistan
  • Senegal
  • Somalia
  • Sri Lanka 
  • Syria

Nationals from the following countries applying for visitor visas to the R.O.C. must submit their application at the designated overseas missions:

  • Burma/Myanmar (Only at Taipei Economic and Cultural Office in Thailand)
  • Nepal (Only at Taipei Economic and Cultural Center in New Delhi)
  • India (Identity Certificate) (Only at Taipei Economic and Cultural Center in NewDelhi)
  • Nigeria (Only at the Trade Mission of the ROC in Nigeria)
  • Ghana (Only at the Trade Mission of the ROC in Nigeria )

Nationals from the following countries are obliged to obtain a Guarantee from their sponsors in Taiwan:

  • Burma/Myanmar (The visa applicants are obliged to obtain a Guarantee from their sponsors in Taiwan and then submit it together with other required documents of visa application to Taipei Economic and Cultural Office in Thailand)
  • As for other particular cases of visa application from the designated countries, the overseas missions of the R.O.C. might request a Guarantee from the applicant's sponsor in Taiwan if necessary.

    Further information: click here.


Flow Chart of Visitor Visa Application

eVisa General Information on eVisa Applicationn
  • Nationals of the following countries are eligible for an eVisa when they meet relevant criteria: Belize, Brunei, Burkina Faso, Columbia, Dominican Republic, El Salvador, Ecuador, Guatemala, Haiti, Honduras, Kiribati, Macedonia, Marshall Islands, Nauru, Nicaragua, Palau, Panama, Paraguay, Peru, Saint Kitts and Nevis, Saint Lucia, Saint Vincent and the Grenadines, Sao Tome and Principe, Solomon Islands, Swaziland, Turkey, and Tuvalu .
  • Furthermore, foreign nationals who have been invited to attend international conferences or activities in Taiwan – organized, co-organized, or sponsored by central government agencies or certain nongovernmental organizations – are also eligible for an eVisa. Such applicants must obtain an e-code from their host organizations in Taiwan prior to applying for an eVisa.

  • eVisa applicants must possess an ordinary, official, or diplomatic passport with validity of at least six months as of the date of intended entry into Taiwan.
  • To obtain an eVisa, applicants must submit relevant personal information and pay the required fee by credit card (Visa or MasterCard) online. ROC overseas missions may, depending on the applicant's nationality and purpose of visit, request through email that the applicant submit additional documents within a specific timeframe. If these documents are not submitted by the given deadline, the application may be denied.
  • When an eVisa application has been approved, the applicant will receive a notice by email containing a webpage link to download and print the eVisa. The eVisa holder is required to present a paper copy of the eVisa at the immigration checkpoint for verification by the National Immigration Agency upon the arrival in Taiwan. However, immigration officers at ports of entry in Taiwan have the right to deny entry to eVisa holders without providing further explanation.

    Please note that eVisas are only granted for tourism and business purposes, as well as for visiting relatives and attending international conferences or sporting events in Taiwan. If you intend to travel to Taiwan for other purposes – such as employment, study, residence with family, or Mandarin language courses – you must submit an application for a suitable type of visa at an ROC overseas mission.

    The validity of an eVisa is three months starting from the issue date. The eVisa is a single-entry visa, and the maximum duration of stay in Taiwan is 30 days, which cannot be extended.

    further information, please click here.

    If you would like to apply for eVisa, please click here